Ok so it got us, we should have been more careful. The news we posted before regarding something called Playstation Edge is fake.
We first saw the news over at Neogaf and Videogaming247.com and decided to post about it. Our friends over at TheSixthAxis have pointed it out that this particular news/fake press release isn’t real.
If you head over to this thread at Neogaf, alot of people are reporting that it is fake. If you see this fake news anywhere else report it, informing them that its not real.
Playstation Edge is a development toolkit.
“a set of cutting edge technologies for imminent release to all PlayStation 3 developers”
“A unique tool for RSX performance analysis”
We initially thought it was pretty dodgy coming from a Neogaf post rather than an actual press release site.
would have been a cool feature though
playstation edge and GCM replay is quite real. look up the wiki. please do your homework.
Wasn’t Playstation Edge shown in 07 at the game developers conference? I’m certain that that was shown behind closed doors with a press-only look at Killzone 2 (which at that time wasn’t yet shown in movement).
I wouldn’t be surprised if the ‘release’ spoken about is the ability for third party developers to get their hands on it.
Hey kris your right. It did came up at GDC ‘07.
http://www.gamespot.com/ps3/action/killzone2/news.html?sid=6166945
http://www.joystiq.com/2007/03/07/sony-unveils-new-tools-to-live-on-the-edge/
Forgot to add. Seems they simply used the Edge name
Playstationedge.com is a PS3 site to be partnered with a PSP Download site at pspds.net. One of the users of the PSP website posted the hoax in an attempt because “he was bored”.
Playstationedge.com will be coming out though, but not officially partnered with Playstation.com, rather with pspds.net.